Cover Wars – The Marrying of Chani Kaufman

If you’ve been following me at all over the last little while, then you know that I loved The Marrying of Chani Kaufman. I was in a bit of a reading slump and this is the book that got me out of it.

Cover Wars The Marrying of Chani Kaufman

I also have a very strong opinion about which cover I prefer. It seems that the North American covers have gone for very much the same look – black and white, traditional wedding photos. While the UK cover is brightly colored and alludes to Judaism through the menorah-like tree.

So which do you prefer? The heavily veiled bride on the American cover on the left? The colorful British interpretation in the middle? Or the black and white on the Canadian cover on the right? (My apologies for the blurred Canadian cover image.)

15 Comments

  1. It’s hilarious how much covers affect me. Only an excellent reviewer like you could convince me to pick up a book with a bride on the front, but I would totally pick up the UK cover on my own, with no prodding from anyone. But, they are the same book and I’d clearly be missing out if left to my own devices with the NA editions. My cover prejudice makes me sad. -Tania

  2. Wow! It looks like the votes are split evenly right now! Not having read the book, I prefer the American cover. I like not being able to see the subjects’ faces on book covers because then my imagination can come up with what the characters look like on its own. What do you think about the UK cover? Did the bright pink fit the mood of the book?

Leave a Reply

