Armchair BEA Introduction

abea

Designed by Amber at Shelf Notes

It is with emotions that I’m joining Armchair BEA this year. I was hoping to make it in person to the BEA in New York to meet up with some great blogger friends, but immigration hassles in the UK put the halt on that idea. So instead, I am back for me second year of Armchair BEA. I had a blast last year and met so many great bloggers, and this year looks to be just as exciting. So without further ado, the answers to the introduction questions!!

1. I am a Canadian blogging from Edinburgh, Scotland. In Canada I worked as a bookseller and when I moved overseas I missed being part of the book world, so here I am. I post mostly reviews of literary fiction and non-fiction. All my reviews include a section called Who would like this book, because I realize that even though I personally did not like a book, someone else will. Every book has its audience. Recently I have also started a weekly feature known as #CoverWars. Basically, I take two different covers for the same book and pit them against each other, letting you vote for the one you like best.

2. Favorite Recently Read Books

3. My blog in one sentence: In my reviews I will give it to you straight about whether or not I liked a book, but I also believe that every book has its audience, it just might not always be me.

Find me on social media.

39 Comments

  1. Hi Tanya, what a pity you couldn’t make it to BEA yourself! Maybe some other year.

    I agree that if I don’t like a book, it doesn’t mean it’s a ‘bad book’ (although sometimes it does!). More likely, the ideal reader isn’t me, but someone else. πŸ™‚

  2. I try to say who would like a book, too, but that’s a really good idea to make it a highlighted part of the review. I liked The Rosie Project, and really want to read Bellweather Rhapsody, The Transcriptionist, and The Panopticon. I read Kate Raccula’s first book and liked it a lot.

  3. Rosie Project and Transcriptionist are on my wishlist! Glad to see that you loved them.

    Sorry that you could not make it to BEA. The immigration department can be such a pain all the time. Hope you can make it next year!

  4. I love your philosophy on this–not everyone will love something.
    Also, the Rosie Project made me so very happy when I read it–it was really unexpected for me to like it as much as I did.

  5. Awesome post! I looove your cover wars feature – such a great idea! That’s too bad that you weren’t able to go to BEA this year but there’s always next year, right? I’m hoping to attend next year as well! πŸ˜€

  6. Love your blog in one sentence sentence. I love bloggers who will give it to me straight. I value the positive reviews of bloggers who will admit to *not* liking every book they read. Sorry to hear your BEA plans got squelched for this year. Hopefully we’ll both be there next year! πŸ™‚

  7. Lovely to meet you Tanya. I’m just now getting to read everyone’s site. What a week long event. All I know about beautiful Scotland is that they have some wicked haunted castles. Would love to visit one for inspiration and start writing a new horror book.

  8. Howdy from Ontario!
    I have a childhood pal that is also in Edinburgh, but she works as a nurse. She married a gent from there too.
    Anyway, I loved The Panopticon. It was a groovy read!
    Great to meet you. Hope you enjoyed ABEA!

Leave a Reply

