Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

virginVirgin by Radhika Sanghani will not be to everyone’s tastes, but I thought it was a very funny and quick read. The book is dedicated “To Anyone who has ever gone through the pain of a Brazilian wax”. If that is funny to you, then you’ll like Virgin. If you think that is the kind of things that should not be discussed in public, then give this a pass.

Virgin is about a 21 year old university student set on loosing her virginity. This project turns out to be a little harder than she bargained for. Her friends tend to be more sexual free than she is, and she struggles to get a guy, any guy. Think of every cringe worthy moment could take place while prepping to do the deed and it happens to Ellie, our protagonist.

But that is just the surface layer of the story. Virgin is also about taking your sexuality, whatever it may be – virgin or not, straight or not – and owning it. It’s about not doing what the media dictates just because television or magazines tell you to, and doing what feel right for you.

Who would like this book? Virgin has been compared to Sex in the City, Bridget Jones and Judy Blume. And those comparisons are true but don’t really go far enough. It is also American Pie and The 40 Year Old Virgin. It takes every taboo and crosses it. This makes it (to me) uproariously funny. But on a more serious note, it also answers a lot of burning questions that everyone has but is afraid to ask. Now I know what a Hollywood Brazilian is.

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with a copy for review consideration via Edelweiss.

18 Comments

  1. I’ve really been looking forward to this one since I heard it pitched at BEA, so I’m excited to see some really positive reviews of it! I think this has to be my next read 🙂

  2. Great review! I loved your first paragraph especially – you totally nailed it in terms of who would like this book. I’m so happy that you had fun with this book; as you know I really loved it, and I really think that more books like these should be published. It’s so refreshing, realistic, and non-judgmental. Laughs aside, the ending “message” was the best part and it made me so happy to think that so many young women will (hopefully) read it and learn from it.

  3. This is the second review of Virgin I’ve read today and I’m so excited about it now! I love books which are non-judgemental and make it clear you can be whoever you want. I think that’s a very important message for everyone, but perhaps especially young women, to hear.

  4. I’m interested in the issues, but would probably do better with a serious nonfiction treatment rather than a funny fiction one. This might be good, though, on a day when I’m feeling too old and want to rectify that!

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

Leave a Reply

