Armchair BEA – Introduction

abeaThat’s right, it’s the most exciting time of the year! Book Expo America (BEA). But for the poor sods like me who can’t make it to New York, we have Armchair BEA – all the bookish goodness of BEA without having to get out of pajamas!

On to Introductions! In the answers to just 5 questions I get to share all sorts of vital information with you (and I’m probably not going to stick to the questions).

  1. Tell us a bit about yourself. I am a Canadian blogging from Scotland. My blog is just over two years old and is basically a record of my reading. I try to spice things up with a special feature I call #CoverWars, which puts multiple covers of the same book head-to-head in a Who Wore It Best kind of scenario. Unfortunately, this feature hasn’t been making that many appearances lately.
  2. What’s your favorite genre and why? I’m a bit of a book snob and read mostly Literary Fiction, but i also like to mix it up from time to time. But, whatever I read needs to be well written. Bad writing is a deal breaker for me.
  3. Books I want to read this summer (by no means exhaustive, just what’s off the top of my head).

  4. Which brings us to the question of diversity. Come on New York Times, you can do better. And you must. In just a few minutes I came up with these books off the top of my head and it is way more diverse than the list you should have researched. What does diversity mean to me? Two things: Reading about people who are not like me, ie/ not white, middle class, university educated or straight and reading books by people who are not widely represented in mainstream publishing.
  5. The book I’m recommending to everyone lately: euphoria
20 Comments

  1. I want you to bring #coverwars back again! It sounds fun.
    I like to buy books of lists of books to read (weird, i know).
    Mostly for children.. but anyway, a few years ago (quite a few now) I bought one on the greatest Canadian Literature for Children. There are some GREAT books that I’ve read.
    I have no idea why I’m telling you this, except I saw on one of your posts something about “what Canadian Literature is all about” and thought I’d chime in.
    Happy ABEA week!
    oh..and if you do cover wars again, I’m in!!

  2. It is good to get to know you through your intro post. I am looking forward to reading Judy Blume’s new book as well. I have read her MG, YA, and adult. It is my understanding that this is new adult.
    I read a reasonable amount of literary fiction too, but I switch it up through the year by reading a variety of genres. While I have read some outstanding literary pieces, I find it incredibly boring when authors try to hard to make it so with clever writing but little entertainment value. Books have to have both for me to really love them.
    Happy ABEA! I am sure I will be seeing you around this week. I look forward to your posts.

  3. You’re the creator of Cover Wars? I used to see that around everywhere! It’s such a cute idea! glad you’ll be participating in BEA- it’s nice they have an online version for us unable to travel. Happy BEA!

Leave a Reply

