2014 TBR Pile Challenge

2014tbrbuttonWith the new year upon us it is time to conquer new challenges, and here is another book related on for me: The 2014 TBR Pile Challenge brought to you by the Roof Beam Reader. One of the reasons I’ve signed up for this challenge is because sometimes i get too caught up in all the new books out there and I forget to read the ones that have been sitting on my shelves for year (some that even journeyed from Canada to Scotland with us!).

In accordance with the rule of the TBR Pile Challenge, I have selected 12 books and two alternates just in case one or two of the twelve don’t appeal to me.

  1. The Magic of Saida by M.G. Vassanji
  2. The Missing Shade of Blue by Jennie Erdal
  3. The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell
  4. The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
  5. The Registrar’s Manual for Detecting Forced Marriages by Sophia Hardach
  6. The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli
  7. The Beauty of Humanity Movement by Camilla Gibb
  8. In The Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner
  9. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
  10. White Teeth by Zadie Smit

Alternates

  1. The Prime of Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
  2. The Lost Girls by Jennifer Baggett et al.
17 Comments

  1. Oh! Those covers all look so beautiful. And I can tell you a little secret: both The Death of Bees and The Beauty of Humanity Movement are two of my favorite books. They’re so good!

    I own a copy of Weird Sisters but haven’t read it yet. Maybe next year…

  2. I should have put White Teeth on my list, too! I wanted to put NW by Zadie Smith on, but it wasn’t quite old enough, I thought, during my rush to put my list together. I’ve read a few on your list…loved Behind the Beautiful Forevers, liked The Death of Bees, and was disappointed in The Weird Sisters. Hadn’t heard of The Registrar’s Manual for Detecting Forced Marriages before, but great title!

  3. I read The Lotus Eaters before! Enjoy 😉
    I’ve listed down the books here and I’ll check them out soon. I have The Death of Bees but I haven’t read it yet. I started reading one of the books in my TBR pile for this challenge today. I hope I get to finish all the challenges I signed up for. Have a great reading year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

