Mr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt

mr.splitfoot by Samantha HuntMr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt did not start 2016 off right for me. I’m not going to lie, I didn’t like it. At first i thought it was me – I had a cold while reading it – and as I went on i realized the book and I just weren’t a good fit. Mr. Splitfoot is billed as American Gothic, and tells the story of foster kids turned con-men. There is also a strong thread of cultish behavior, which is what drew me in.

For me, it wasn’t so much the story I had a problem with, but the writing style. However, for some, I think it is the writing style that will appeal. I just felt like the story kept unraveling with no clear sense of where it was going. There was not a clear trajectory. I also felt at times like Hunt was thinking ‘Ooh, I’ve always wanted to put this in a novel’, and so, put it in.

I know I sound like I’m being harsh, but I’m just telling it like it is. I will also say, that the buzz I’ve been hearing on Twitter for Mr Splitfoot has been good. People like it. Just not me.

Who would like this book? A) It’s being billed as American Gothic, so if that appeals – go for it. B) If you like to dance with devil in the pale moon light. In highschool French class we always studied Quebecois tales involving the devil and Mr. Splitfoot reminded me of them. C) If you like a writing style that isn’t straight forward. Mr Splitfoot is also a bit of an American journey book – by foot instead of car.

10 Comments

  1. Maybe I’m strange, but I love reading the reviews that go against what most people are thinking about a book. It gives me another perspective to think about before picking up a book. So, thanks for doing it!

  2. I was just thinking this morning about first books of the year and the pressure for it to be a good one. Possibly a post in it…
    Sorry to that this one didn’t do it for you, but as always I appreciate the warning. That Quebecois style description has put it firmly on the Not list for me!

  3. I love when people tell it how it is! Not every book is for every one, and I can certainly see not getting into this one. I think I just read it at the right time, and ended up REALLY enjoying it… but I always love a difference of opinion. I don’t think it will be one that at the end of the year I’m like OH YEAH THIS BOOK, but I enjoyed it while it lasted 🙂

Leave a Reply

